Posted by: emilybybike | May 5, 2010

Off to a rolling start!

Just over a week into this challenge – yet it feels more like fun than a challenge! I get up in the mornings, and get to ride my bike for about an hour before going to work. Perfect. Before I found out I had been chosen to take this on – I’d try riding to work, once, maybe twice a week. But it wasn’t always easy or fun tackling DC traffic, and bike paths with cracks, ruts and bumps on a carbon-frame road bike, cramming everything I’d need for my professional 9-5 into a tiny backpack.

But now – it’s already become a lot easier. I still take my tiny backpack with me, but panniers make a world of difference, as does a more ‘relaxed’ riding position on a purposefully commuter bike. And outside of work – the bike rocks! Whether it’s running to the grocery to get dinner, or meeting my friends out for the evening, it’s a lot easier and a lot less stressful just to jump on my bike and GO instead of get in the car, sit in traffic, and look for parking.

And more to come – but again, this is just the beginning!

So since April 26, 2010:

  • 175 miles ridden
  • 8 days car-free
  • 0 crashes
Leave a Reply

Categories

