Posted by: emilybybike | May 14, 2010

Heading West

In the broader sense of “Going by Bike” I’m taking off on an adventure, resulting from my (minor) addiction to cycling. Who’d have thought that by entering a mountain bike race on a whim back in 2008 would have landed me a spot on a local mountain bike team, which also happens to be sponsored by a film production company, who’s new film is premiering this Saturday at the start of the Tour of California, which I am headed out to!

2010 Amgen Tour of California

And if you haven’t already heard about it – Arlington’s own, Gripped Films, will be premiering their newest film, Chasing Legends, on May 15th at the start of the 2010 Tour of California. The film follows Team HTC-Columbia throughout the 2009 Tour de France, and gives viewers an in-depth and behind the scenes look at the history, grandeur, suffering and triumph of the world’s most famous bike race.  (I personally am psyched to see the close-ups of Big George Hincapie and Mark Cavendish – but that’s just me 🙂 )

And no, even though my Dad asked, I will not be literaly going by bike to California. While that would definitely be a grand adventure, I don’t quite have the time to ride 2,800  miles out to Sacramento right now… maybe next year Dad – if you ride with me!

But – I will be taking my road bike, and am excited to see how California stacks up in bike-friendliness to the greater DC/VA/MD area.  And of course – see some great racing from some of Pro-Cycling’s best (yes – Big George, Lance, Levi, Cavendish, you name ’em, I’ll be trying to catch ’em).

Excited for a fun-filled week and then some of cycling overload! Can’t wait to see what California has in store – afterall, it’s the namesake of my Valencia, and the birthplace of Mountain Biking!

Responses

  1. That trip across the country is in the category of Someday Isle. It is good to know that you will accompany me on my adventure.

  2. Can’t wait to hear about the Tour of California! Keep posting.
    Angie


Leave a Reply

Categories

