Posted by: emilybybike | May 27, 2010

Angry Truck Drivers are No Fun

I like to think of my self as a pretty conscientious cyclist. I obey traffic laws, I try not to purposely annoy cars, block traffic, and I’m that girl who stops at stop signs and red lights. In college – I had a dear friend on a bike hit and killed by a car, and that made me even more of a stickler for safety and being cautious in traffic.

Yet today, as I was cruising downhill on the Custis Trail heading toward the Key Bridge, slowing to stop before crossing the parking lot entrance to the Key Bridge Marriott (tourists driving = danger!) I got a HUGE horn honk and verbal lashing from a angry truck driver in a big delivery truck. As I was coming to a stop he lays on the horn and looks out is window, points at me and shouts “Yeah – you see that! YOU gotta STOP”. A little bewildered, I turned to the another commuter who had come to a stop just behind me and asked if I had done anything wrong. He just shook his head and said no, that some people just have it out for cyclists and think they own the road.

Guess no matter how hard you try to be courteous and conscientious of traffic rules – you have to realize that there are people out there who just don’t like to be held up, don’t like cyclists and are simply grumpy. Tried not to let it get to me and ruin my morning – and almost felt sorry for the guy in the end. Maybe he was angry that he couldn’t be out on a bike!

Leave a Reply

Categories

