Posted by: emilybybike | July 7, 2010

Hitting Refresh

Sometimes you just need to get away. Off the reservation. Out of town. Out of the state. Get some fresh air and clear your mind. A change of scenery even for a few days can change your perspective and refresh your outlook on life.

Over the 4th of July – I unplugged, got ‘off the grid’ and out-of-town, with my bike of course 🙂 Every now and then the hustle and bustle of DC starts to grate on me and I find the need to go get after some fresh air and a view of the country. This past weekend, upstate New York, near the Finger Lakes, provided just that.

To beat the weekend (and daily…) slog up I-270, we left early Friday morning and didn’t look back. It felt great. The temperatures outside were perfect – so it didn’t quite matter that there was no AC in the truck and I kept looking in the side-view mirror and grinning to see my bike back there with me on this adventure. And while this wasn’t slated to be an epic adventurous trip, as long as I had my bike with me, I knew it was going to be a good one.

No traffic, no congestion – just pure simple riding near the Finger Lakes

The best part about riding this past weekend was it was all for fun. No racing. No rushing to work. No intervals. No training. No worrying about heart rate, speed, rpm, watts, what have you – it was riding to ride. I can’t think of a more relaxing, fun thing to do, then to just get out in the country and ride for the heck of it. You can turn down roads just to see what’s there, ride to see the sights – including small-town Americana decorated for July 4th, finding out why Honeoye Falls is called such, and I could go on, but I think you get the point.

The falls of Honeoye Falls, NY

When things in your life start to make you crazy, stressed and just generally grumpy – you need to hit refresh and for me, there’s no better way to do that then by bike. Ride for the fun of it. Remember how it felt to be a kid and just cruise on your bike to cruise on your bike. You don’t need a fancy bike, anything with two wheels can work, so find your ride, go outside (if it’s not blisteringly hot as DC is these days…) and hit refresh. It’s guaranteed to make you smile.

Leave a Reply

Categories

