Posted by: emilybybike | July 8, 2010

You know it’s hot…

When 80 degrees and slightly breezy at 7am feels refreshing… Hello Summertime in DC!

Ouch. Looks like the East Coast is blanketed in HOT!

I was a little hesitant to ride in this morning – still feeling a bit sluggish after last night’s Wednesdays @ Wakefield Race where the temperature was hovering above 90 degrees when the 6:55pm races started. Ouch. I managed to drain my camelbak 5 minutes in to my last lap, but dug in and still somehow managed to finish in one piece. Everyone who came out and raced, volunteered or spectated in that brutal heat last night deserves huge props. It wasn’t easy by any means, but despite the heat, was still quite fun. I guess that’s what happens when you get 100+ crazy mountain bikers together to race. Good times as always.

I’ll be honest – I’m not looking forward to my ride home today either. By the time I hit the road again, my ‘cool’ 80 degree morning will have morphed into a steamy 90+ degree afternoon with near 50% humidity, an air quality alert and heat advisory. BUT – considering the alternatives are to a) Take Metro with its ever-increasing fares, slower service because even Metro can’t deal with the heat or b) Drive, yes with AC, but adding to the poor air quality, nope, I’ll ride a little slower, try to drink a lot of water and not worry that I’m going to get sweaty.  And if you think about it – riding your bike is almost like turning on the AC – go downhill and you get a nice lil’ breeze!

Responses

  1. http://www.hyperwear.com/buy/cooling-vest.html/

  2. Amusing concept – but I think I may put the $140 towards my 2010 SM100 registration instead! Just need to pedal a little faster to kick up a better breeze 🙂

  3. My trick is that I freeze a water bottle and have it when I go out the door, and my other bottle is cold and wrapped in my office clothes. Tucson is 101 to 103 for rides home, but we don’t have the humidity like DC! That is tough! Cheers! Bruce


Leave a Reply

Categories

