Posted by: emilybybike | July 13, 2010

Bikes, Bags and Baguettes

Some days going by bike are quiet, and others, well others can be quite adventurous. Today was a mix for sure. Nice cooler (and by cooler I mean 75-degree) morning to ride in, but my afternoon had me checking the weather channel incessantly as the threat of storms loomed in the area. I managed to find a window to pedal as fast as I could home between storms, and only lightly get sprinkled on. And actually, when it’s hot out, a little light sprinkle is quite refreshing on the bike.

I waited out another shower right after I got home before heading out by bike to the grocery store. A *glorious* 71 degrees outside, I was almost giddy to be able to get out in such refreshing temperatures. At the store, my new recycled-tube panniers have definitely increased my ability to carry groceries and even the bigger items like milk and ice cream 🙂 Then, as I was checking out, the cashier got quite excited about my panniers, telling me that they were the coolest bags he’d ever seen. And I’ll admit, they are pretty spiffy (and did I mention – recycled!?). However, the one item that couldn’t quite fit into the bag, was my french baguette. Call me crazy, but sometimes I just get a craving for a baguette. They are quite tasty and sliced with cheese nicely accompany a dinner-salad.  So I stuck my baguette into my backpack, still though, it stuck out the top, but it made me laugh, and I rode home in the evening sunshine feeling quite French and rather amused with myself.

Vive la France! Vive la bicyclette! Vive la baguette!

Leave a Reply

Categories

