Posted by: emilybybike | August 16, 2010

Dear Angry Drivers (an open letter)

Dear Angry Drivers –

I am sorry that you are having a bad day and are so mad at the world. We all have bad days, I understand, but just because you are having a bad day, does not mean you have to take it out on people you don’t know (especially me).

Please know, that when you speed by and yell at me, it really looks bad on you. First, take into account some simple physics of sound, that by the time you speed by and yell at the window, you have past me in such a rush, that I have no idea what you are saying, so if you would like to say something, you’re going to have to slow down, and since I know you’re going to slow down, please just save your breath. And especially if you have kids in the car, it’s really not the best idea to yell mean things at a person on a bicycle in front of them – would you want your kids to grow up thinking cycling and thus exercise is bad?

Yes, I realize when I ride along Beach Drive at approximately 20mph, I slow you down, however, please note, that if you were traveling the speed limit (which you obviously are not) I would only slow you down by a mere 5mph as the posted speed limit on Beach Drive is 25mph. And while that is still delaying your trip, maybe take a moment and think, that while I do slow you down for a little bit, I’m out there helping the environment and doing something positive for myself. Would you get angry at someone walking down the street? Running? I try my hardest to stay to the side of the road and keep my speed up to be as polite and considerate of you and other drivers as I can, and would appreciate the same respect.

And in the end – I know you’re probably not an angry driver all the time, just having one of those bad days. But does putting your bad day on someone else really make you feel better? Probably not.

So when you’re angry and behind the wheel, just take a moment, try to think of one good thing that happened that day, or is going to happen and make yourself smile before you get out on the road (and yell at me). Maybe next time – you should try riding your bike! It is guaranteed to make you smile!

Sincerely –
Your friendly neighborhood “Go By Bike” Girl

Leave a Reply

Categories

