Posted by: emilybybike | August 17, 2010

Stopping to enjoy the view

Okay – ranting over, I realize that sometimes even when I’m on my bike, I’m in too much of a hurry to slow down and stop to enjoy my surroundings. The other day, when it was ridiculously hot, I was in no major hurry to get home (well no major hurry to ride fast home in the heat and humidity) so I rode at a little slower pace than normal and snapped a few pictures of the world I ride through on my daily commute, and realized that there is a lot of natural and man-made beauty right in the middle of DC. Kind of like Ferris Bueller said – Life moves pretty fast. You don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it. So here we go – a few things I may have missed by going too fast…

Bambi all grown up and hanging out with his boys just inside Rock Creek park. I remember when you used to have to head out to Shenandoah National Park just to try and catch a glimpse of a deer, and especially one with such big antlers. Now, I see THREE, late afternoon riding through the middle of Washington DC.

Is this Montana? Colorado? Nope – it’s Rock Creek! Take the little pass back on the trail near the zoo, and the noise and traffic of Beach drive melts away and what you see and hear, is quiet, nature and the creek!

I can’t count the number of bridges I cross along the way – the path and creek like to intertwine (and yes, sometimes the creek will swallow the path:-/ )

And bridges I pass under! A lot of the bridges passing over Beach Drive / Rock Creek Parkway were built in the 1920(ish) and have some very pretty stonework – not something you’d typically expect from a road bridge.

Next – welcome to Georgetown! As I go over yet another bridge, here’s a bit of a 360 of my favorite  views of Georgetown

Rush-hour on Key Bridge (okay not a favorite) with a great view of the Washington Monument and Kennedy Center (that’s the favorite!)

Hello Rosslyn! Just out of DC’s building height restrictions is a corporate mega-center of high-rises.

The Potomac! Looking upstream, you lose all sight of urbanism, aside from the occasional party boat, and see nothing but open river and wooded shoreline.

Ahh – Georgetown, the University and some of the area just down M-street from the crazy tourist-clogged retail shops and Georgetown Cupcake with its mile-long line.

So that’s one good thing these hot summer days are for – slowing down the pace of life to stop and take a look at what’s around and what you’ve been missing! Try it – it might just make you smile!

Leave a Reply

Categories

