Posted by: emilybybike | August 27, 2010

Aloha FRIDAY!

No work ’til Monday! Doo be doo be doo!

(no, I haven’t lost my sanity… just a little song they sing in Hawaii on Fridays) It’s Friday, it’s gorgeous out, I had the most amazing ride in to work today and now I can’t stop smiling. Sure I have a pile of work to get done before I can go home and really start to enjoy my Aloha Friday, but hey, the un-seasonably cool morning and again, a good morning bike ride have my spirits sailing.

Yes, the ride in, temperatures just below 70 degrees, the morning sun shining brightly and sprinkling that early morning golden light among the trees and across the creek as I wound my way through Rock Creek Park. There was a cool breeze on my face and despite still being a bit sore from my first crack at cyclocross Wednesday evening, my legs felt awake and ready to roll. No pony pies on the trails, and while I still had some detours to get through, the zoo gates were unlocked and there were no angry drivers buzzing me. Perfect morning.

I think it’s all because it’s Aloha Friday!

And now, the goal is to keep the positive mood and spirits of Aloha Friday going all weekend! Even if you’re not having the best Friday right now, think of what you can do to make it better – and with the forecast this weekend – I have the perfect solution. Ride your bike! It’s going to be in the 80s and sunny all weekend, and what better weather do you have to take this weekend and ride more if you already ride, or try going by bike somewhere. Ride to the grocery, ride to a party, ride to see friends. It’s great weather, and I’d be hard pressed to find something that lifts your spirits more than riding a bike, to do something fun when the weather is perfect.

Leave a Reply

Categories

