Posted by: emilybybike | September 9, 2010

Turning the pedals

Felt like fall this morning. Long sleeves and knickers on the ride in. Clear skies, cool temperatures, low humidity. Perfect morning to be out on the bike. Or, as I’ll admit, back on the bike. Between preparing for the Shenandoah 100 and a few ‘detours’ in my path of life, I took a few days off the bike to let my legs, bottom and spirit get some rest.

For my legs at least, it was a smart move. Even this morning and with my pedal-assist, my legs weren’t very happy with me. But, like all somewhat crazy cyclists, I just had to say “shut up legs” and keep turning the pedals. Yet for the other part, I think I should have kept pedaling, life happens and we can either let it get us down and depressed, or we can sit up, take charge and pedal through it. Just as at Shenandoah, when I settled into my saddle and felt and heard the my cleats lock into my pedals, my anxiety lessened, my brow relaxed and I could breathe a little easier, I settled into my commute this morning and felt relaxed, happy and at peace. Amazing what an hour on the bike in beautiful weather can do for you.

So even if you legs are tired, but life keeps giving you detours, get on the bike, turn the pedals, it will take you wherever you want to go on the bike and in your soul.

Leave a Reply

Categories

