Posted by: emilybybike | October 5, 2010

Back on the Bike!

Hello Fall! After nearly 2 1/2 weeks at sea, I traded my sea-legs for my cycling legs this morning and was met with a crisp morning and the smell of fall in the air. Even with slightly grey skies, it was still perfect.  Felt great to stretch my legs and have space to ride – especially after spending the better part of the past few weeks on a 65-foot boat. It was definitely an adventure, but I can honestly say, I missed my bike. A lot. I may have hugged it this morning (shhh!) but as I’ve said – my bikes are always there for me, and it made me smile to come home and see them ready and waiting.

And – if I haven’t mentioned it enough – have a great fall riding to break back into going by bike! Even a hint of color change as I zipped through Rock Creek Park!

I even had to dig out the windbreaker and knickers, and probably looked a bit goofy riding down the bike path with a big grin on my face. But I did. Whereas sailing gives you the wind in your face and the freedom to go where you want on the wide open seas, the same can be said for riding a bike. This morning, I had the wind in my face and the freedom to go wherever I wanted on my bike. Of course, I went to work, but that doesn’t take away the potential and the possibility to take my bike anywhere. Fall is the perfect time for that.

So back on the bike, and time to get pedaling! It’s cool out, so there’s no excuse not to ride!

And yes – knickers rock!

Responses

  1. The weather sure has changed now that you are back on the bike, huh?

    Sounds like you had quite a sea adventure!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

