Posted by: emilybybike | October 20, 2010

Oops … I broke it again …

I promise I tried my best to heed the advice of The Bike Lane’s mechanics and not ride my Valencia Ride+ commuter bike quite the same way I typically ride my mountain, and yes, my road bikes. (I like to bunny hop things, don’t worry about bumps in the path/road, and see how fast I can go … oops…) So since August when I had my last mechanical on the commuter  I’ve been trying to take it a little more gentle over the bumps, roots and curbs in my path. I’ll admit sometimes it’s not easy, especially as Rock Creek is stunning this time of year with the leaves changing color, and I’ve been paying more attention to the foliage than to the asphalt in front of me, but on the whole, I’ve been making a more conscious effort to avoid little pot-holes and bumps in the rode and slow down a bit over the bumps I can’t avoid.

However, this morning I was pedaling along Beach Drive as usual, and enjoying the color of the leaves along  the creek (side note – if you live near DC and have never been to Rock Creek Park – it’s actually very pretty!), when just about only a mile from work I heard a loud “SNAP!” Considering that there were no other cyclists or even motorists around, and I was in one of the less wooded stretches, I had the sinking feeling that I knew exactly what had caused the noise. It was a spoke. Dangit.

I pulled over as soon as I safely could and examined my wheels to see where the damage was. Rear wheel, of course, it’s the one with the short spokes and carries most of the load of the bike.

Ouch. Luckily for me, well as lucky as you can be with a broke spoke, it had broken off at the bend and I was able to do a bit of road-side maintenance to at least rig it in to place and limp the rest of the way to work. Not ideal, but at least it still rolls!

“Fixed” spoke for the ride home at least…

So now the question is do I chance fate and ride home? Or figure out metro and/or a rescue … I think I’d rather ride 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

