Posted by: emilybybike | November 2, 2010

Hello Winter?

32 degrees this morning. Frost on the ground, my breath making a little cloud in the air. One week ago, I was riding in shorts and a t-shirt, it felt like summer, but today, it feels like winter. So where did fall disappear to? I’m a bit confused … but then again there are candy canes in the grocery stores, and Jackson Hole already has 42 inches of  powder so I guess winter really is knocking on the door already. Brrr!

Leg warmers, a thermal jacket and 2-pairs of gloves kept me warm enough riding in, although I was quickly reminded of every uncovered inch of skin in the first 4 minutes of my ride. I forgot how biting 32 degrees can be. It wasn’t fun, but it wasn’t unbearable. I am going to have to work on finding a really good pair of winter gloves though – even with a liner under wind-stop gloves, by the time I arrived at my building my fingers weren’t exactly nimble.

But – I’ve ridden in worse…,

and today, at least  my water didn’t freeze, the ground was dry and eventually after I started really pedaling, my core did start to get cozy. So – while hopefully we’ll get back to more seasonable temperatures for a little bit here, when full-on winter does arrive!

Leave a Reply

Categories

