Posted by: emilybybike | December 13, 2010

Commute on Freeze

With the news talking about our “Arctic Blast” and winter weather, I’m already ready for it to be over. I’m not saying I hate winter, I’m just not a huge fan of weather that prohibits me from safely (and sanely) riding my bike to work. I had high hopes of being able to ride this week, but snow on the ground, the potential for ice on the trail and wind-chills again in the teens again had me cramming sardine-like into a metro car.

Yes, I suppose I could adhere to “The Rules” 5 & 9, but a) commuting isn’t quite like road riding, b) I think some of these rules are more than slightly absurd and c) The rules according to me, Metro > Frostbite,

With tomorrow’s forecast for a high of 30 and winds gusting to 40 mph, I’m having visions of getting swept off the Key Bridge or simply pedaling and going nowhere fast. With weather like this, going by bike is definitely a challenge.

I don’t quite know what to do here, I want to keep riding, but I’m not sure how to stay warm enough on the moderately paced 14-mile ride I have from Arlington to Silver Spring in the early morning hours when the temperatures are at their coldest, and I have a sinking feeling that this is just the tip of this winter’s iceberg, as winter is still just about a week away. Brrrr!

Responses

  1. I really like your “rules”.


Leave a Reply

Categories

