Posted by: emilybybike | January 3, 2011

Resolve to Ride

January 3rd and I’m pleased to say that I’ve already put in double, almost triple-digit cumulative miles for the year (yesterday’s cold and rainy ride out in Haymarket definitely helped there!). The first commute of 2011 was chilly at 29 degrees, but sunny and smooth. I was happy to see a few more commuters than usual out on the trails, so perhaps we have more folks deciding to ride to work as their New Year’s Resolution. I’d definitely be a proponent of that!

In the past I’ve been a bit of a skeptic when it comes to resolutions, finding that  while New Years can be a good catalyst to make a change for a few months, sometimes you need more than just a holiday where historically you’re supposed to make a resolution, to make your resolution stick. It takes a lot of determination and hard work to stick to anything, but as I’ve found over the past 9 or so months of going by bike, that once you get over the initial obstacles of self-doubt and worry that may stand in the way of you reaching your resolution (or challenge!) it can get a lot easier. Sure along the way other obstacles will arise to try and get you off track (hmm…abnormally cold weather? snow?) but hopefully, you pick a resolution that is something you’re passionate about, something you feel will improve your life and possibly the lives of others around you and not something that is reasonable to accomplish.

As for me, there are a few things I know I could do better in my life, and have been bothering me for a while, so they have morphed into my New Years Resolutions. First, I’m going to try to stop running on “Emily Standard Time” and habitually being late. Ugh. Hate it, but it’s become a habit. Next, I want to do a better job of tracking my annual bike mileage. Sure, this is a bit of a self-serving resolution, but it’s something I’m rather curious about, as I admittedly ride my bike way too much and the only miles I habitually track, are those I ride on my commuting Trek Valencia Ride + (yes, it automatically tracks my miles, so I don’t even have to think about tracking them). That said, in 2011 I managed go by bike 2,314 miles commuting and running errands around town that I would typically have done by car.  Almost to 2,500, almost!

So what’s a good resolution if you don’t already have one you’re jazzed about? You guessed it. Go by bike. You can start small and see how it impacts your life. Resolve to ride more, drive less and perhaps by making this one resolution, it will help you accomplish others – like losing weight, saving money and getting in shape! When it all adds up, Going by Bike sounds like a pretty good resolution to make and keep!

Leave a Reply

Categories

