Posted by: emilybybike | February 26, 2011

Shifting Logic

If you had asked me a year ago how I was going to get somewhere, I probably would have automatically replied that I was driving without a second thought. Fast-forward to today, and if you ask me the same question, if it’s somewhere within a reasonably close radius, I’ll tell you that I’ll be riding my bike. Over the past almost 10-months, I’ve realized that going by bike can be a lot faster, easier and cheaper than alternative modes of transportation.

Today (after running 7 miles this morning … since I had the genius idea to sign up to run a half-marathon in about 3 weeks) I didn’t think twice about jumping on my road bike and pedaling up to Bethesda to have my favorite bike mechanic (aka my big brother) help me swap out some parts on my road bike. It just made sense. I didn’t think anything of it at first, until my brother asked me “Why didn’t you just drive” when I plopped down on his floor and whined a little bit about being tired. Drive. Hmm… I guess I could have … but then I realized that the thought of driving never even crossed my mind. I was going up there with my bike, and since it’s only about 12 miles away via the Capital Crescent trail, it seemed perfectly logical to me to ride. I think that the more folks go by bike and see how feasible it is, the more it changes your perspective. Sure it’s hard at first and you have to think about going by bike, but the more you do it, the more second nature it becomes.

It’s getting warmer out, the snow’s almost all gone – so get out there and go by bike! Change your logic, save money, burn calories and have fun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

