Posted by: emilybybike | March 7, 2011

Back in the Game

The bright sunshine this morning fooled me into thinking it was somewhat warm outside. Nope. Still freezing. I’m really ready for spring. Like really, really ready. Anyway, I headed out as usual and while still chilly, I enjoyed the sunny  morning. Have to find the little thing to enjoy – especially on Mondays. (not a fan of Monday mornings) It felt good to be on the bike, especially after yesterday’s rain pretty much kept me indoors. I’m still getting over the last of my nasty little cold, and the last thing I want to do is make it worse.

The trail was unusually empty today (even for a chilly morning), however what wasn’t empty, was Rock Creek Parkway – as I turned onto the Rock Creek Trail from Georgetown, I was greeted by blaring lights and sirens and the slew of cars that make up the Presidential Motorcade. As long as I’ve lived in the DC area and as many motorcades as I have seen, I still think it’s pretty cool to see one go by. I wonder what a Presidential Motorcade would be like if the President wanted to go by bike somewhere … interesting thought…

After that, a fairly uneventful ride in, but it made me smile to be back pedaling – especially with gas creeping upwards over $3.50/gallon. Ouch. Looking forward to a new week with hopefully more opportunity to ride and warmer weather! It’s almost spring and time to stop being sick and get back out on the bike!

Leave a Reply

Categories

