Posted by: emilybybike | March 9, 2011

Hump Day

Ahhh Wednesday…middle of the week, two days down, two to go and absolutely no energy for this girl. Not sure what the reason, but turning the pedals this morning was quite the challenge. My get-up-and-go had forgotten to get up this morning, but I still had to get on the bike and head into work. I don’t think the cloudy skies and threat of rain helped with my motivation either. I’m dreading the thought of a soggy commute home, but I actually packed a legitimate rain jacket (Thanks Ginger!) so it probably won’t rain on me as these things seem to go.

So how does one stay motivated and energized? With racing season just around the corner, I’m starting to feel more than worn down already. While I get a good work-out on my 2-hour a-day commute, lately, I’ve also been coming home and putting in another effort to either get a more race-specific training work-out done, or get a quick run in, as I decided back in October that running a half-marathon here in a few weeks was a smart idea. Not that I don’t like running, but after the past few weeks of amping my mileage (i.e. not just running once a week) I’m a little tired. And I think that may be making me more tired in the mornings and sluggish on my commute. And of course it being the middle of the week, when I’m short on everything but work and exhaustion doesn’t help much either. But that’s the way it goes, and in the long run, I’d much rather be riding, even if it hurts, than driving or getting motion-sick on the metro, there’s just something about the freedom of going by bike that makes me smile every day. Even the threat of a little rain this afternoon won’t stop me!

So bring on Hump Day, bring on the mid-week slump – and even if it hurts, remember that there’s a reason to ride – it’s good for you, it’s good for the environment and if you’re like me – it guarantees a smile.

Leave a Reply

Categories

