Posted by: emilybybike | March 14, 2011

Taper Week

I’m going to go ahead and admit that while the weather’s looking pretty commuter-friendly, my miles by bike are going to be slightly cut back this week. For those of you who are competitive and race “endurance” events, you understand the importance of tapering and cutting back on your work-outs and extensive physical activity right before your race. And while I’ve done my fair share of endurance events, it’s still a hard concept for me to grasp. I like to be in motion. I like to be active and there are days it takes more mental effort for me to not be active than to be active.  Yes, I feel guilty when I don’t ride my bike to work. But, after having an epic bonk at Saturday’s NightRyder race out at Plum Grove and then struggling to run 10 minute miles for a measly 3-miles yesterday (I can usually run an

8:30 pace pretty easily), I’m starting to realize and understand that I need to take a few days off.  I’m scheduled to run the Shamrock 1/2  upcoming Sunday down in Virginia Beach and the last thing I want to do is head out on that event tired and not feeling 100%. So I’m going to take it easy this week to get back a little energy and hopefully not die too bad when I pretend to be a runner this coming weekend. And then of course – it’s back to what I love most – and that’s biking!

And no – it doesn’t mean in any way shape or form that I’m off the bike this week, I still plan on going by bike when and where I can. Afterall – it is almost spring and gas prices are going up about as fast as crocuses and daffodils are sprouting so it’s the perfect time of year to start going by bike if you already aren’t!

Responses

  1. Never realised how many races existed for st. patty’s day until I was reading through the blogs… Good luck on the run

    cheers

  2. Have a great race!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

