Posted by: emilybybike | April 4, 2011

Now THIS is what I’m talking about

Spring. Actually feeling like Spring. This morning was close to perfect for going by bike to work. The morning chill had me in arm and leg-warmers, but it was a far cry from my “bike ninja” get up of the past several months. It’s the little things like not having to put on shoe covers, that are nice little breaks in the morning and make me truly feel that we may just finally be climbing out of winter.

When I stepped out the door this morning, there was a freshness in the air, almost like the first day after winter you can open your windows and let fresh air back into your home. Your lungs fill up feeling refreshed, renewed and ready to take on the world. And while not quite the world, I felt more ready to take on my commute this morning than I had in a very long time. I felt lighter and happier on the pedals, and with the sun peeking through early morning clouds, it was a very pleasant commute. Mornings like this make you want to ride, make you thankful when going to work you have to turn your pedals and burn carbs instead of simply stepping on them and burning dinosaurs. I know every morning won’t and can’t be perfect, but I’ll take what I can get and hold on to that feeling of happiness to motivate me along the way.

(I’ll also apologize for the recent lack of pictures as my little point and shoot camera had an unfortunate accident down at Virginia Beach and isn’t exactly working these days …  oops)

Leave a Reply

Categories

