Posted by: emilybybike | April 5, 2011

Laundry Detergent, TP and Baguettes

With yesterday’s gloriously warm weather, it was a perfect day for going by bike, anywhere and everywhere. Once I got home from work, I had a few errands to run, and what better way to “run” my errands, than by bike!?  There was a warm breeze blowing and the sun was out, and for early April, made me think it was mid-June with temperatures hovering right around 80. So I recharged by bike a bit after my commute home, then grabbed my panniers and was off to the store.

Riding the short (0.8 mile) distance to the grocery store, made me again realize how so often we make extremely short trips by car, when more times than not, it’s faster and easier to go by bike. I had no problem finding a place to park my bike, whereas at this time of evening (6ish) on a Monday, the parking lot of any grocery store is usually jam-packed and you end up playing the waiting of following game to snag a space. Point for cycling!

I didn’t have a huge list for the store, just a few things, but odd enough that at first I was concerned that I’d be able to take everything by bike. However, thanks again to the great recycled-tube panniers I got from The Bike Lane to help out with my commuting, I was actually able to carry quite a bit. You’d be amazed how much you can actually carry in a pannier. The warm weather had me craving a big salad accompanied by a toasty baguette (check), and then typical household chores had me short on toilet paper and laundry detergent. Now how was I going to get these on the bike?  Easy. Sure you can’t fit one of those mega-sized 12-roll packs in, but a 4-pack fits perfectly. And detergent? Well in an eco-conscious world, the concentrated bottles of detergent are easily carried by bike.Plus they give you the same number of loads as the “normal” bottles, with less packaging. Win-win there.

The coup d’etat  of my grocery by bike adventure, was when the bagger got quite excited about my panniers. When the cashier remarked how nice and heavy-duty they were, the bagger got a big grin on his face and said “I know what these are for! You’re on a bike, aren’t you?!” I smiled, laughed and said I was. He easily fit all my groceries into my panniers, and let me know that the next time I came in, I’d have to try to carry more things so HE had more of a challenge to fit everything in.

Packed and ready to head home! And while the baguette may stick out a wee bit, you can’t even tell I’ve got laundry detergent, toilet paper and other groceries packed up in there! (apologies for poor photo quality – I’m down to using my little camera on my phone now)

I rode home with a smile, enjoying the mild weather and looking forward to the time of year when going by bike gets a lot easier, safer and more fun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

