Posted by: emilybybike | June 28, 2011

Summer Doldrums

It’s summer. It’s hot. It’s humid. And while it’s a great time to be enjoying the great outdoors, I’ve been having some trouble finding the motivation to ride an hour each way to work every day and at the same time things more interesting than riding in heat and humidity to write about. This morning the ride wasn’t too bad – the hide and seek storms of last night at least alleviated some of the humidity. I tried to shake things up a bit by taking the path instead of the road from the Zoo through most of the park, and while this is a bit slower, it was a lot less stressful as I didn’t have to constantly worry about slowing gas-powered commuters down. So it’s the little changes that keep the commute fresh and keep me on my toes. It’s not that I don’t like riding to work, I think if anything, I’ve gotten a bit bored and I’ve been really tired lately. My racing and training schedule hasn’t helped, as there have been days where I’ve had to chose between commuting and training.

I’m not trying to whine here – just figure out a happy balance where I still enjoy riding my bike and it’s fun and not a hassle. I will say that as the summer as gone one, my local “by bike” trips have increased – more trips to the grocery, more short trips around town where it’s easier to go by bike, but I don’t get overheated and too sweaty. So while I’m getting weary of the daily 2-hour slug to and from work, I’m excited and motivated by more shorter trips around town. It’s easy, it’s save you $$ and you don’t have to look for parking, and it is the time of year when you can just get on and go without having to worry about layering up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

