Posted by: emilybybike | August 3, 2011

Refreshed

It’s been a brutal summer for going by bike – be it for commuting, errands or exercise, it was the hottest July on record. Yuck. And while August hasn’t exactly come in that much cooler, the past few days have been somewhat of a relief. Storm clouds cooled the sky on Monday, as I headed down the road on my skinny tires again to meet up with my friend Julie for a Monday night movie. I was a little warm by the time I got to the theater, but it made the typically sub-freezing theater feel OK. But it was after the movie, when I went to ride home that I was surprised by perhaps my first cool and refreshing ride in a very long time. The night was cool and there was a slight breeze. Seems like 9:15pm may be the perfect time to get a ride in! Not much traffic as I made my way home up Wilson Blvd in the bike lane, which, at times, can be a scary place between absent-minded pedestrians and clueless cab-drivers.

But the ride made me smile, and glad that I was able to take my bike instead of getting in a car to drive the mile and a half or battle with metro. I felt refreshed and ready to take on another week of riding … with hopefully more cooler days to come!

Leave a Reply

Categories

